Selective Killing

How do we justify the killing of one human being over another?  This question truly perplexes me at this point in my life.  Growing up in the south with a very conservative father, I was taught that we are obligated to defend this country in any way possible.  However, when do we say enough is enough?  

I can’t stop thinking about the soldier who killed the Afghan citizens this month.  I can’t stop thinking about his family, his wife and kids.  This hits home for me because my husband was diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder several years ago resulting from his time as a Marine in the Gulf war.  I would awaken to find him having nightmares, sweating, talking in his sleep.  

How much trauma can a human being with a soul endure before they lose it?  I didn’t know this soldier of course but I am heartbroken for him and his family.  My burning question is this….does the line begin to blur for these soldiers after they have gone through several tours of duty?  When you are trained, encouraged, and praised for your work as a killer are you able to decide who to kill and who not to kill?  Especially if they are the “enemy.”  Add in a previous head injury……….

I will not even begin to say I know what his punishment should be.  However, I do know this…..these soldiers need healing, not prison.   Stop and take a long hard look at the way we have been encouraged by our government, the media, the talking heads to feel separated from other people, other cultures, them vs. us.   We have been instructed on who our enemies should be and why.  To top it off, they invoke the name of Jesus to justify their killing.  I just don’t believe it anymore.  He plainly instructed us on how to handle our enemies right? Obviously they must not really care about the things he taught.  A rule is not really a rule if you can continually break it…….

We ask these guys to kill for us, for our protection.  What should we do for them?  Here’s what….stand up for them, speak for them, support their families, send them love and healing from your soul.

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Goodreads

  • D-Day (departure day)

    Setting out on the road in the RVSeptember 1, 2012
    May our journey be blessed.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other subscribers