Rediscovering Magic

I began reading “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron this week.  The book is wonderful so far.  Sometimes, books come to you when you need them, like messages from the Universe.

One of the paths to opening up a creative block, as recommended in the book, is writing “Morning Pages.”  Three full pages written out on paper.  Your inspiration for this is your stream of consciousness.  It sounded daunting to me as I am just beginning to write again after many years.  However, when you are writing your every thought it actually goes quite fast.  Today was my fourth day to roll out of bed and write down my every thought, whether good, bad, or ugly.  Seeing how angry, grumpy and just plain negative some of my thoughts are is tough, but it is a cleansing of the mind.  Afterwards, I feel refreshed and ready to fill my mind back up with positive, creative thoughts.  

Next, the author recommends a weekly “Artist Date.”  No, not a hot date with a sexy artist….actually, yes…a hot date with a sexy artist…yourself!  So today was the day.  I didn’t really know where to take myself so we went to the park, camera and notebook tagging along.  As I am walking along the muddy trail with flip flops on, something happened.  A fleeting memory of childhood….no, not really a memory but the feeling of magic I had as a child walking alone in the woods.  The trees serving as majestic guardians, the scurry of animals, the magic of imagination.  It felt wonderful, I felt so alive, and then it faded.  But, I found it for a moment, something I have not been able to do in years.  

What happens to that magic as we get older?  Why is it so hard to hang onto that childlike wonder?  Over the last ten years or so I have become jaded.  While working as a nurse, I was constantly stressed, even at home.  I found myself feeling as if something were lacking even though I had everything I needed and more.  I constantly thought of alternatives to my fast paced lifestyle. Sometimes I think I was just not cut out for this fast-paced modern culture.  

So, I will continue writing the Morning Pages and taking myself on dates.  I will learn to love myself, opening a pathway for Divine inspiration and creativity, and I will share that inspiration with the world. 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You know what you need…get some! | thedailycreativewriter

Leave a comment

  • Goodreads

  • D-Day (departure day)

    Setting out on the road in the RVSeptember 1, 2012
    May our journey be blessed.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other subscribers