The Toes Knows

I have never been a clumsy person.  I made it to the age of 33 without one broken bone.  So, about six months ago I was the recipient of a what I think was a stress fracture to my right foot.  This happened, I think, while I was chasing my son and bad dog, Sophie (whom you can read about on TheAmateurBiologistOccasional blog) around the house at mach speed.  It’s not really their fault though.  It could be one or both of the following…..I might need to lose about 30 pounds or the Universe is trying to tell me to slow down.  My husband went for the latter reason of course.  He could be right though.  

So, about two months ago I broke the pinky toe on my left foot.  Before I tell you anything else I need to preface this…I love animals, any kind, and sometimes I can go overboard with my compassion (is that possible?).  Sophie, in all her badness brought home to the backyard a squirrel.  It really did look like it was either already dead or dying.  I did not want the squirrel to have to die in my dog’s ferocious grasp.  My son and I took a blanket and went out to retrieve the squirrel.  Next, I brought it in the house to have a peaceful death wrapped in a blanket….yes, I brought the squirrel inside my house.  We laid it on the floor and I proceeded to try and give it liquid acetaminophen in a syringe. The squirrel did not let on at that point that it was just playing dead.  

I told my son we should take it into the laundry room so it would be closed in behind the door, just in case it didn’t die and wanted to get up.  Well, it did want to get up and away from me.   As I carried it to it’s new abode in the blanket I felt it move.  I froze!  I slid the squirrel and the blanket on the floor into the room and took off running through the kitchen, my son in tow.  I never thought you could break a toe just running and falling on the floor, but you can.  

So, there you go…….the first toe is broken.  Did I take it easy these past few months and let it heal? Of course not, there is just too much to do.  

Let’s move on to toe break number 2.  This happened just yesterday morning.  My husband is in the process of selling some old clock and watch repair tools.  You can imagine, they are old and heavy and all over the house in the way.  I can tell you this…if you walk into one of them it can break your toe.  Strangely enough, this toe is also on the left foot next to the pinky toe and it hurt much worse than the squirrel break.  

I have come to this conclusion, the toes know something….and are trying to tell me about it.  I probably should slow down and rest the toe but who will take care of all the things I have to do?  My husband, that’s who.  He always volunteers to take care of things while I rest and I know he means it sincerely.  This is about me having to be in control, having to make sure things get done the way I want them to.  

Today I am going to do this…write, read, crochet, sleep (maybe), and rest my toe.  I have to give the toes credit, they have accomplished a lot getting me to rest.  I am going to accept the divine gift of a husband who loves me and wants to take care of me….I am blessed. 

As far as my bad dog Sophie, at this very moment she is chasing my son around the house faster than lightning, just tempting me and my bad toes to come out and play…………….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Goodreads

  • D-Day (departure day)

    Setting out on the road in the RVSeptember 1, 2012
    May our journey be blessed.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other subscribers